Laurie Lico Albanese

Hester

Stolen Beauty

Previous Books

For Book Clubs

Press And Events

About the Author

Contact

Press And Events

"Stolen Beauty is a work of art itself."—The Wall Street Journal

 

"Albanese artfully weaves Adele’s story with Maria’s harrowing life under the Nazis, and reflections on marriage and fidelity. But it’s hard to read Stolen Beauty without seeing ugly echoes in today’s headlines, with the clarion call of 'America first' and immigrants singled out as 'the problem.' Seven decades after World War II, have we learned nothing?"—USA TODAY

 

"The Surprising Connection Between Oprah and a $150 Million Art Masterpiece" — Some insight at TIME into the breaking news about Oprah Winfrey's surprise sale of a Gustav Klimt painting at the center of the book.

 

"If you haven’t heard of Gustav Klimt and the story of his Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer I, buckle up. It’s a page turner, to say the least."—The Tig

 

"Painfully topical, reminding us in excruciating detail what happens when prejudice wins. ... [R]ead this fine novel, giving necessary nuance to gaze at this complicated piece of history."—NJ.com

 

“Albanese has written a gripping historical novel that revolves around the lives of two extraordinary women who live in extraordinary times… The well-paced stories of both women, told in alternating chapters, are presented in clear, crisp language, beautifully described settings, and credible dialogue that moves each woman’s story forward, compelling readers to keep the pages turning, as do the historical elements of the novel…With all the elements of a good novel—love, sex, tense relationships, events spiraling out of control, family dynamics, personal conflict as well as war—coupled with real people and true history, this accessible novel of strong women, self-discovery, evolving social mores, artistic challenges, and a rapidly changing world makes for satisfying reading, whether one’s interest is primarily women, history, art, or life in one of Europe’s most beautiful cities in the time of Freud and free love.” —New York Journal of Books

 

See what's on my nightstand table in "Reading with... Laurie Lico Albanese" at Shelf Awareness.

 

“Compelling. Complex yet utterly readable. Fans of Philippa Gregory, Tracy Chevalier, and those who enjoyed the film ‘Woman in Gold’ starring Helen Mirren won't be able to put it down.”—Library Journal (starred review)

 

“Readers will be swept away by the depth of feeling and sensuous writing; whether depicting the salons of Vienna or its slums, the ballroom dances of debutantes or the takeover of a textile factory by German troops, Klimt fervently sketching, or the relaxed atmosphere of a coffee house, Albanese’s prose brings the people and the times to life. This novel is a bonanza of information about art history, philosophy, feminism, war, and love.”—Historical Novel Society, Editor's Pick

 

"Incredibly delicious to read..Stolen Beauty uniquely delivers intelligent plot, literary substance, and emotional impact...colors and enhances the true drama of the life of Adele Bloch-Bauer, known to the world as the Lady in Gold."—Jewish Book Council

 

“Impeccably researched.”—The Jewish Voice

 

“Powerful, dynamic storytelling.”—RT Magazine

 

Stolen Beauty is featured in the February 2017 issue of Cosmo Magazine.

Upcoming Events: soon to be announced.

Stolen Beauty has been chosen by Canadian librarians as one of LoanStar’s Top 10 Picks for February 2017.

 

 “Fans of romantic suspense with an art historical bent will appreciate the vigor of Albanese’s reimagining of the family saga behind the masterpiece long regarded as Vienna’s Mona Lisa.”—Kirkus Reviews

 

“Albanese’s novel will appeal to readers interested in such themes as love, self-discovery, and women’s empowerment and to fans of the historical, art-based fiction of Susan Vreeland and Tracy Chevalier.” —Booklist